Schengen Visa
Schengen Visa
Posted By Staff

Which Non-EU Countries Allow Entry with a Schengen Visa?

Here is the list of non-EU countries you can visit with a Schengen visa.

Did you know, 2017 was notably the strongest year for Europe, in terms of international tourism? A total of 51 million more people visited Europe that year than in 2016, according to an article on Skift Global Forum. Southern Europe and the Mediterranean region attracted a whopping 258 million arrivals! 

One of the key factors behind such massive figures is the smooth and hassle-free visa procedure between the countries in the Schengen area. A Uniform Schengen Visa allows travelers free movement within the 26 member states of the Schengen zone. However, this visa also entitles you to travel to a number of countries that are not part of the European Union. Here’s a look.

Non-Schengen Countries You Can Travel to with a Schengen Visa

There are several countries you can travel to with a uniform Schengen visa, despite them not being a part of either the Schengen zone or the European Union. These include:

  1. Albania
  2. Antigua and Barbuda
  3. Belarus
  4. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  5. Bulgaria
  6. Columbia
  7. Croatia
  8. Cyprus
  9. Georgia
  10. Gibraltar
  11. Kosovo
  12. Macedonia (the former Yugoslav Republic)
  13. Mexico
  14. Monaco
  15. Montenegro
  16. Romania
  17. San Marino
  18. Sao Tome and Principe
  19. Serbia
  20. Turkey

Apart from these, there are some other countries, in various parts of the world, that allow you entry with just a Schengen Visa, rather than a specific national visa. These are:

  1. Mexico
  2. Belize
  3. El Salvador
  4. Guatemala
  5. Honduras
  6. Nicaragua
  7. Aruba
  8. Bahamas
  9. Curacao
  10. Haiti
  11. Jamaica
  12. Sint Maarten
  13. Argentina
  14. Peru
  15. Vatican City
  16. Oman
  17. Qatar
  18. Philippines
  19. Taiwan

With a Short Term C type Visa, you are eligible to travel to the above mentioned non-Schengen countries. It is important to keep in mind that some of these nations might need the visa to be of multiple entry status and used at least one time to enter the Schengen Zone. 

Why is the Uniform Schengen Visa Accepted in Non Schengen Countries?

  1. Many less developed countries do not have the infrastructure, advanced technology or manpower to handle all the visa procedures, such as screening and vetting. 
  2. In the Schengen Visa analysis, all documents, including the passport, travel insurance, financial proof, identity proof and other mandatory documents are thoroughly verified. Such stringent checks give non-Schengen countries the confidence that the foreign nationals can be allowed into their territory as well. 
  3. Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia and Cyprus honor the visa already because they are in the process of becoming a part of the Schengen agreement. 

Safe Travel USA Comprehensive

Plan max limits $50,000 to $1 Million

Deductible options from $0 to $5000

Hospitalization, ER, Urgent Care, Dr. Office Visits

1 Episode of Acute Onset of Pre-existing conditions

Coverage from 5 days to 2 years

Visa Procedure for Non EU Schengen Countries

The first step to obtaining this visa is to fill up the Uniform Schengen Visa Application Form, either online or by downloading it. If you are a first-time applicant, you will be required to submit the filled form and the mandatory documents in person. 

Also, buying travel medical insurance is highly recommended. It will protect you against unfortunate events such as flight cancellations and cover you for medical expenses while on the trip. Check out popular insurance plans like these and get one that suits you.

Your visa hassles get taken care of to a large extent with the Uniform Schengen Visa and you can fly to multiple countries of your choice, without having to go through the tiring formalities for each nation separately.

4/5 - (1 vote)

View Comments
There are currently no comments.